clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Roberto Alomar and Bert Blyleven Elected to the Hall of Fame

There will be two new player plaques in Cooperstown next year, as both second baseman Roberto Alomar and starting pitcher Bert Blyleven were elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame today.

Alomar was a defensive wizard, winning 10 Gold Gloves and being selected to 12 All Star Games over his 17 seasons. Blyleven was an underappreciated workhorse, having won 287 games and 3,701 strikeouts. Alomar will most likely go into the Hall as a Blue Jay, while Blyleven will wear a Twins cap.

Congrats to Blyleven and Alomar!


Found the vote totals over at the Crawfish Boxes,

It looks like Barry Larkin is poised to make the Hall next year, with 62.1% of the vote. Jack Morris has seemingly stalled out, going up a mere percentage point to 53.5%. Newcomer Jeff Bagwell got 41.7%, Mark McGuire dropped from 23.7% to 19.8% and Rafael Palmeiro got a little over 11%.

As far as Tigers on the ballot, Alan Trammell gained slightly: his name was on 24.3% of the ballots. Juan Gonzalez barely made the cut: he was named on just over the minimum 5% of ballots. Bobby Higginson failed to garner a single vote.