clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tigers sweep Yankees, advance to World Series

Afterglow: Big Al will have the full recap shortly, but for now, celebrate the Tigers’ sweep of the Yankees and anticipate the trip to the World Series.

Leon Halip

The Detroit Tigers defeated the New York Yankees 8-1, completing a four-game sweep in the American League Championship Series, sending the Tigers to the World Series for the first time since 2006, and for the 11th time in the 112 year history of the franchise.

The Tigers knocked Yankee starter CC Sabathia out of the game, scoring six runs by the fourth inning. Detroit tallied sixteen hits, including a pair of two run homers from Miguel Cabrera and Jhonny Peralta. Peralta and Austin Jackson added solo shots while Avisail Garcia and Delmon Young each chipped in with an RBI for Detroit

Max Scherzer allowed just one run in 5-2/3 innings, not allowing a hit until the sixth inning, and striking out ten Yankees. Drew Smyly, Octavio Dotel, and Phil Coke came in from the Tiger bullpen and slammed the door to clinch the series. Tiger starting pitchers allowed just two runs in the entire series, both scored by Edwin Nunez, who replaced Derek Jeter at Shortstop for the Yankees.

The victory marked the third time that the Tigers have won the ALCS since the league split into divisions in 1969, each time registering a sweep of their opponents. Detroit swept the Kansas City Royals in three games in 1984, the last time that the Tigers won the world series. The Tigers swept the Oakland A’s in 2006 when Magglio Ordonez blasted a walk off home run in the ninth inning to send the Tigers to the fall classic.

This is the first time that the Yankees have been swept in a playoff series since the Royals took three straight in 1980, and the first time they’ve been swept four straight since Sparky Anderson’s Big Red Machine won the World Series in 1976. It's also just the fifth series sweep in MLB history where the victors never trailed in any game.

The Tigers will now host the winner of the St. Louis Cardinals and San Francisco Giants, winners of the past two World Series in 2011 and 2010 respectively, with games 1, and 2 being hosted by the National League team on Wednesday and Thursday, October 24 and 25.

The Tigers will host games 3, 4, and if necessary, game 5 on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, October 27, 28, and 29. Tickets for all Detroit home games have been sold out. All games will be televised on Fox. Start times have yet to be finalized.