clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Awards season: Miguel Cabrera wins 2012 Hank Aaron Award

Miguel Cabrera wins another trophy in honor of his Triple Crown season - The 2012 Hank Aaron Award.

Doug Pensinger

Lost in the haze which was a Tigers World Series game 3 loss, Miguel Cabrera won another of what should be several awards for his historic Triple Crown season. In a pregame ceremony with commissioner Bug Selig and Hall of Famer Hank Aaron, Cabrera received 2012 Hank Aaron Award for the American League.

Giants catcher Buster Posey was the recipient of the NL version of the award.

Established in 1999 to honor Aaron on 25th anniversary of breaking Babe Ruth’s career home run record, the Hank Aaron Award is bestowed upon the most outstanding offensive performer in each league. The winners are determined by a combination of fan voting and a Hall of Fame panel.

Fans voted for the award on, and for the third straight year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron joined fans in voting for the award. The Hall of Fame panel – personally selected by Hank Aaron – consisted of Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan and Robin Yount.

Cabrera is the first Tiger to win the award. Prince Fielder took home the Aaron hardware in 2007 as a member of the Brewers.