clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Austin Jackson, Alex Avila finalists for 2012 Gold Glove Awards

Mere hours after the end of the 2012 season, off season business begins in earnest, starting with the announcement of Gold Glove Award finalists.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Christian Petersen

The Detroit Tigers aren't known for their defensive prowess, for good reason. But a pair of Tigers have received recognition for their ability with the glove.

Center fielder Austin Jackson and catcher Alex Avila were nominated as finalists for 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards on Monday. Winners are to be announced Tuesday at 9 PM ET on ESPN2.

Gold Glove voting rules are as follows: Each manager and up to 6 coaches on his staff vote from a pool of qualified players in their league, and cannot vote for players on their own team. (The unofficial rules: You should be a good offensive player and have won a Gold Glove previously)

Finalists for American League catcher:

Alex Avia, Detroit Tigers
Russell Martin, New York Yankees
A.J. Pierzynski, Chicago White Sox
Matt Wieters, Baltimore Orioles

Finalists for American League center fielder:

Austin Jackson, Detroit Tigers
Adam Jones, Baltimore Orioles
Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels

Jackson and Avila were finalists in 2011 as well, Avila losing to Weiters, Jackson to Jacoby Ellsbury of the Boston Red Sox.

The last Tigers to win a Gold Glove are Pudge Rodriguez and Placido Polanco in 2007.