clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Awards season: Mike Trout is AL Rookie of the Year

Your respective MLB Rookies of the Year are Mike Trout in the AL, Bryce Harper in the NL

Jeff Gross

The only question going into today's Baseball Writers Association of America Jackie Robinson American League Rookie of the Year Award announcement was how dominant Mike Trout's victory would be.

In a unanimous vote, the Angels center fielder took all 28 first place votes. Athletics outfielder Yoenis Cespedes was 2nd, Rangers starting pitcher Yu Darvish finished 3rd.

An elite defender in center field, Trout hit .326 with 30 home runs and 83 RBI, posting an OPS of .963. He led the AL with 129 runs scored and 43 stolen bases in one of the great rookie seasons on record.

Trout becomes the 8th unanimous rookie of the year in AL history. He's also the youngest winner in AL history. The Tigers' own Lou Whitaker, 1978 rookie of the year, was 2 months, 26 days older than Trout. The reigning Rookie of the Year is also a nominee for AL MVP, which is expected to be a 2 man race between Tigers Triple Crown winner Miguel Cabrera and Trout.

AL Rookie of the Year Results:

1. Mike Trout, Angels: 140 (28 1st place votes)
2. Yoenis Cespedes, Athletics: 63
3. Yu Darvish, Rangers: 46
4. Wei-Yin Chen, Orioles: 2
5. Jarrod Parker, Athletics: 1

The National League award wasn't nearly as cut and dried, and the results reflected it.

Bryce Harper won the NL rookie award in a much closer race. The Nationals outfielder took 16 first place votes to 13 for Diamondbacks starting pitcher Wade Miley. Also receiving 1st place votes was Reds' IF/OF Todd Frazier.

Harper lived up to his preseason hype, putting up one of the best seasons ever by a teenager. Harper posted an .817 OPS while hitting .270 with 22 home runs and 59 RBI, stealing 18 bases and scoring 98 runs. He is the 2nd youngest winner of the award, 24 days older than 1984 NL winner Dwight Gooden.

NL Rookie of the Year results:

1. Bryce Harper, Nationals: 112 (16 1st place votes)
2. Wade Miley, Diamondbacks: 105 (13)
3. Todd Frazier, Reds: 45 (3)
4. Wilin Rosario., Rockies: 12
5. Norichika Aoki, Brewers: 11
6. Yonder Alonzo, Padres: 1
7. Matt Carpenter, Cardinals: 1
8. Jordan Pachecho, Rockies: 1

MLB announces the remaining major BBWAA awards as follows:

Tuesday: Manager of the Year
Wednesday: Cy Young
Thursday: Most Valuable Player