clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Miguel Cabrera unanimously voted Tiger of the Year

Miguel Cabrera must win all the awards, including 2012 Tiger of the Year.

Christian Petersen

Miguel Cabrera needs to make room in an already overflowing awards cabinet after being named Tiger of the Year by the Detroit chapter of the Baseball Writers' Association of America

Cabrera was a unanimous winner, taking all 25 votes.

It's the third Tiger of the Year award for Cabrera, who has been alternating the title with Justin Verlander since 2008. The only other players who have been named Tiger of the Year more than twice since the award was established in 1965 is Alan Trammell (1980, 1987-88) and Cecil Fielder, who won 3 straight from 1990-92.

In a marvelous 2012 season, Cabrera led the Tigers to a World Series appearance, played in his seventh All-Star Game and won the Triple Crown with a .330 batting average, 44 home runs and 139 RBI. He topped the AL in slugging (.606), OPS (.999) extra base hits (84) and total bases (377), and ranked 2nd in hits (205) and runs (109).

His off season awards haul has included winning the Hank Aaron Award, the Luis Aparicio Award and a Silver Slugger, along with being named Sporting News and Players Choice Player of the Year.

Cabrera is also a finalist for 2012 AL MVP, which will be named next week.