clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

No Tigers included on Team USA roster for 2013 World Baseball Classic

One pitching spot on Team USA's 28 man roster was left open. Which means Justin Verlander taking part in the WBC remains a possibility.

Leon Halip

With the World Baseball Classic just six weeks away, Team USA announced their roster Thursday morning. The remaining 15 rosters for the WBC will be released at 4 PM Thursday.

Team USA is expected to have 13 position players and 15 pitchers, but only 27 players were named to the 28 man roster. It is still hoped Justin Verlander will take the final roster spot, though he has yet to confirm his participation. Verlander reportedly won't make a decision until he determines how his arm feels after the start of spring training.


Mark Teixeira
1B Yankees
Brandon Phillips 2B Reds
Jimmy Rollins SS Phillies
David Wright
3B Mets
Joe Mauer
C Twins
Ryan Braun LF Brewers
Adam Jones
CF Orioles
Giancarlo Stanton
RF Marlins
Ben Zobrist IF Rays
Willie Bloomquist IF Diamondbacks
Shane Victorino
OF Red Sox
Jonathan Lucroy C Brewers
J.P. Arencibia C Blue Jays
R.A. Dickey SP Mets
Ryan Vogelsong SP Giants
Derek Holland SP Rangers
Kris Medlen
SP Braves
Craig Kimbrel
RP Braves
Heath Bell
RP Diamondbacks
Chris Perez
RP Indians
Vinnie Pestano RP Indians
Luke Gregerson RP Padres
Glen Perkins RP Twins
Steve Cishek RP Marlins
Jeremy Affeldt
RP Gianta
Tim Collins RP Royals
Mitchell Boggs RP Cardinals

The only Tiger to have made public his commitment to take part in the WBC is reigning AL MVP Miguel Cabrera, who will play for his native Venezuela. The Tigers denied Victor Martinez's request to play for Venezuela due to his ongoing recovery from his knee injury.

The WBC will start March 2nd in Japan, Taiwan, Puerto Rico and Phoenix. Round two will start March 8th and be played in in Tokyo and Miami. The semi-finals are March 17th and and the championship game will be played March 19th, both rounds taking place at AT&T Park in San Francisco.

Team USA has never reached the WBC finals, reaching the 2nd round in 2006 and the semis in 2009.