clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

BBWAA awards: Finalists and dates for each award

The BBWAA will announce the 2013 winners of their MVP, Cy Young, Rookie of the Year and Manager of the Year awards next week.


The annual Baseball Writers' Association of America award finalists have been announced, a list which includes three Detroit Tigers - Miguel Cabrera for Most Valuable Player, Max Scherzer for Cy Young and Jose Iglesias for Rookie of the Year. The awards will be doled out at 6 PM Monday through Thursday of next week on the MLB Network.

The dates for each BBWAA award is as follows:

Rookie of the Year: Monday, November 11

Manager of the Year: Tuesday, November 12

Cy Young: Wednesday, November 13.

Most Valuable Player: Thursday, November 14.

The full list of finalists in each award category is below:

American League

Most Valuable Player
Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
Chris Davis, Orioles
Mike Trout, Angels

Cy Young
Yu Darvish, Rangers
Hisashi Iwakuma, Mariners
Max Scherzer, Tigers

Rookie of the Year
Chris Archer, Rays
Jose Iglesias, Tigers
Wil Myers, Rays

Manager of the Year
John Farrell, Red Sox
Terry Francona, Indians
Bob Melvin, Atheltics

National League:

Most Valuable Player
Paul Goldschmidt, Diamondbacks
Andrew McCutchen, Pirates
Yadier Molina, Cardinals

Cy Young
Jose Fernandez, Marlins (Winner)
Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
Adam Wainwright, Cardinals

Rookie of the Year
Jose Fernandez, Marlins
Shelby Miller, Cardinals
Yasiel Puig, Dodgers

Manager of the Year
Fredi Gonzalez, Braves
Clint Hurdle, Pirates
Don Mattingly, Dodgers

More Roars

Essay: Jim Leyland’s legacy in Detroit

Cabrera sweeps Players Choice awards | Earns MLB 14 The Show cover

Offseason target: Joe Nathan | More possibilities

Detroit’s arbitration forecast: expensive

Follow us on Facebook!