clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2014 MLB playoff schedule is set; Tigers head to Baltimore

New, comments

The Detroit Tigers will open the 2014 playoff season on Thursday at Baltimore in the American League Division Series.

Duane Burleson

SB Nation 2014 MLB Bracket

The Detroit Tigers are the American League Central division champions for the fourth season in a row. On Thursday, October 2nd, the Tigers will open the American League Division series at Baltimore, where they hope to advance to the American League Championship Series for the fourth consecutive season.

With the Pittsburgh Pirates losing at Cincinnati, the St Louis Cardinals have won the National League Central division. The Oakland Athletics have claimed the final wild card spot in the American League and will play in the wild card playoff against the Kansas City Royals in Kansas City on Tuesday.

Here are the full playoff schedules for 2014:

American League Wild Card Playoff

Oakland Athletics at Kansas City Royals

Date Visitor Home Television Time
Tuesday, Sept 30 Oakland Kansas City TBS 8:07 PM, ET
National League Wild Card Playoff

San Francisco Giants at Pittsburgh Pirates

Date Visitor Home Television Time
Wednesday, Oct 1 San Francisco Pittsburgh ESPN 8:00 PM, ET

American League Division Series

Detroit Tigers vs. Baltimore Orioles

Date Visitor Home Television Time
Thursday, Oct 2 Detroit Baltimore TBS 5:37  ET
Friday, Oct 3 Detroit Baltimore TBS 12:07
Sunday, Oct 5 Baltimore Detroit TBS 3:45
Monday, Oct 6* Baltimore Detroit TBS TBA
Wednesday, Oct 8* Detroit Baltimore TBS TBA

AL Wild Card winner vs. Los Angeles Angels

Date Visitor Home Television Time
Thursday, Oct 2 Kansas City Los Angeles TBS 9:07 ET
Friday, Oct 3 Kansas City Los Angeles TBS 10:07
Sunday, Oct 5 Los Angeles Kansas City TBS 7:37
Monday, Oct 6* Los Angeles Kansas City TBS TBA
Wednesday, Oct 8* Kansas City Los Angeles TBS TBA

National League Division Series

St. Louis Cardinals vs. Los Angeles Dodgers

Date Visitor Home Television Time
Friday, October 3 St. Louis Los Angeles Fox Sports 1 6:37 ET
Saturday, October 4 St. Louis Los Angeles MLB Network 5:37 ET
Monday, October 6 Los Angeles St. Louis Fox Sports 1 or MLB Network TBD
Tuesday, October 7* Los Angeles St. Louis Fox Sports 1 or MLB Network TBD
Thursday, October 9* St. Louis Los Angeles Fox Sports 1 TBD

NL Wild Card winner vs. Washington Nationals

Date Visitor Home Television Time
Friday, October 3 San Francisco Washington Fox Sports 1 3:07 ET
Saturday, October 4 San Francisco Washington MLB Network 9:37 ET
Monday, October 6 Washington San Francisco Fox Sports 1 or MLB Network TBD
Tuesday, October 7* Washington San Francisco Fox Sports 1 or MLB Network TBD
Thursday, October 9* San Francisco Washington Fox Sports 1 TBD
American League Championship Series
Date Visitor Home Television Time
Friday, Oct 10 TBD TBD TBS TBA
Saturday, Oct 11 TBD TBD TBS TBA
Monday, Oct 13 TBD TBD TBS TBA
Tuesday, Oct 14 TBD TBD TBS TBA
Wednesday, Oct 15* TBD TBD TBS TBA
Friday, Oct 17* TBD TBD TBS TBA
Saturday, Oct 18* TBD TBD TBS TBA
National League Championship Series
Date Visitor Home Television Time
Saturday, Oct 11 TBD TBD FOX TBA
Sunday, Oct 12 TBD TBD Fox Sports 1 TBA
Tuesday, Oct 14 TBD TBD Fox Sports 1 TBA
Wednesday, Oct 15 TBD TBD Fox Sports 1 TBA
Thursday, Oct 16* TBD TBD Fox Sports 1 TBA
Saturday, Oct 17* TBD TBD FOX TBA
Sunday, Oct 18* TBD TBD Fox Sports 1 TBA
World Series
Date Visitor Home Television Time
Tuesday, Oct 21 NL Champion AL Champion FOX TBA
Wednesday, Oct 22 NL Champion AL Champion FOX TBA
Friday, Oct 24 AL Champion NL Champion FOX TBA
Saturday, Oct 25 AL Champion NL Champion FOX TBA
Sunday, Oct 26* AL Champion NL Champion FOX TBA
Tuesday, Oct 28* NL Champion AL Champion FOX TBA
Wednesday, Oct 29* NL Champion AL Champion FOX TBA

*If necessary