clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tigers lineup for Monday vs. Florida Southern, first week's rotation announced

J.D. Martinez will bat third and Jose Iglesias will get an inning of work in Monday's game. The Tigers' rotation for the first week of spring training games was also released.

Rob Foldy-USA TODAY Sports

LAKELAND — The first lineup of the season was released Sunday morning, as well as the starters for the first week of spring training. After a rainy day drowned out any possibility of outdoor baseball activities, Tigers players also took to the fields for drills in preparation of the first game of 2015.

Monday's exhibition game against Florida Southern will feature Tim Melville, who will get the start on the mound. He will pitch for two innings.

  1. Ian Kinsler, 2B
  2. Jose Iglesias, SS
  3. J.D. Martinez, RF
  4. Yoenis Cespedes, LF
  5. Rajai Davis, CF
  6. Nick Castellanos, 3B
  7. Jordan Lennerton, 1B
  8. Bryan Holaday, C
  9. James McCann, DH

Iglesias was initially not going to start on Monday, but manager Brad Ausmus opted to put him in for one inning tomorrow. After playing a half-inning at the start of the game, Iglesias will get one at-bat then he'll be done for the day. The top six hitters will be guaranteed one at-bat, but nothing beyond that, regardless of whether they get to hit or not.

The remainder of the starting rotation for the week are as follows:

Kyle Lobstein, Tuesday vs. Orioles

Anibal Sanchez, Wednesday at Orioles

Alfredo Simon, Thursday vs. Braves

David Price, Friday at Mets

Justin Verlander, Saturday at Braves

Shane Greene, Sunday vs. Astros


There's been no update on Joel Hanrahan, who recently had his sessions cut short. Given that his recovery has been an uphill climb, don't expect any significant changes in the immediate future. As for Miguel Cabrera and Alex Avila, Cabrera ran on the AlterG treadmill and Avila is resuming baseball actitvities today.

The Tigers also agreed to terms with the last six players Sunday morning, which takes care of the 40-man roster for the 2015 season. Those players were Lobstein, Holaday, Hernan Perez, Andrew Romine, Tyler Collins, and Anthony Gose.