clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chicago White Sox 12, Detroit Tigers 3: Game 11 Player of the Game

Who was today's Tigers player of the game in their 12-3 loss to the White Sox?

Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

For the first time this season, the Tigers were the ones on the wrong end of a decisive score line. After taking a 1-0 lead over Chris Sale and the Chicago White Sox in the first inning, the Tigers quickly unraveled, and went on to lose 12-3.

Miguel Cabrera was one of the lone bright spots for the Tigers offensively, collecting an RBI single after a lengthy at-bat with Sale in the first inning. The hit, which came after a nine-pitch battle, put the Tigers up 1-0. Cabrera was walked in the third inning, and did not come to the plate again until the game was well in hand.

J.D. Martinez hit his team-leading fifth home run of the season in the bottom of the fourth inning, launching a solo shot off Sale into the right field bleachers. Martinez's five home runs are second only to Nelson Cruz of the Seattle Mariners. The blast was J.D.'s only hit on the afternoon. He struck out twice against Sale, and flew out to deep left field in the bottom of the eighth.

Angel Nesbitt stopped the bleeding when he came into the game with two runners on base in the fifth inning, inducing a groundout to end the inning. Sure, the score was already well out of hand by that point, but Nesbitt continued to pitch well. He worked a scoreless inning in the sixth, allowing a walk and a single.

Tom Gorzelanny had the most impressive pitching performance of the afternoon, working a scoreless eighth inning. He did not allow a baserunner and struck out two of the three batters he faced. He was the only Tigers pitcher to retire Melky Cabrera, who had four hits and two RBI.

Game 10 Player of the Game

He didn't have the game-winning hit, but David Price was the star of the show in yesterday's 2-1 win, throwing eight innings while allowing just one run on four hits. Price also struck out nine batters, a season-high. He earned 52 percent of the vote, narrowly beating out walkoff hero Jose Iglesias.