clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLB All-Star Game 2016: Miguel Cabrera named to AL roster, Ian Kinsler snubbed

The Tigers have only one representative in this year’s All-Star Game, their lowest total since 2008.

Detroit Tigers v Cleveland Indians Photo by Jason Miller/Getty Images

Unless the infamous “Final Vote” goes their way, the Detroit Tigers will have just one representative in the 2016 MLB All-Star Game, which is slated to take place at Petco Park in San Diego, California on Tuesday, July 12. Miguel Cabrera was named as a reserve on the American League team, while second baseman Ian Kinsler is one of five players that fans can vote on for the final All-Star roster spot.

Cabrera’s All-Star nod is the 11th of his career and his seventh in a Tigers uniform. He was left off the AL roster in his first two seasons in Detroit, but has now made the All-Star Game in each of the past seven seasons. He is hitting .300/.380/.530 with 18 home runs and 51 RBI through 82 games (entering Tuesday’s action). He is tied for third in the AL among first basemen with 1.9 fWAR this season, while his 138 wRC+ leads all AL first basemen.

While the Detroit Tigers don’t own the same star-studded roster they had a few years ago, getting just one All-Star nod out of this group is a major snub. Ian Kinsler ranks 14th among all American League players with 2.7 fWAR, while Jordan Zimmermann and Justin Verlander rank among the top 10 AL starters at 2.1 and 2.2 fWAR, respectively. Michael Fulmer’s 8-2 record and 2.17 ERA was not enough to appeal to old school evaluators either, though all three starters may be on the short list to replace those injured or ineligible to pitch. The Tigers have had multiple All-Stars in every season since 2008, when Carlos Guillen was their lone representative.

The other four players in the AL half of the Final Vote are Evan Longoria, Boston’s Dustin Pedroia, Toronto’s Michael Saunders, and Houston’s George Springer. Brandon Belt, Ryan Braun, Jake Lamb, Starling Marte, and Trevor Story comprise the NL half of the final vote. You can click here to vote for Kinsler. Texting and tweeting options are also available.

American League starters:

C: Salvador Perez, Royals
1B: Eric Hosmer, Royals
2B: Jose Altuve, Astros
SS: Xander Bogaerts, Red Sox
3B: Manny Machado, Orioles
OF: Mookie Betts, Red Sox
OF: Jackie Bradley, Red Sox
OF: Mike Trout, Angels
DH: David Ortiz, Red Sox

AL reserves:

C: Stephen Vogt, Athletics
C: Matt Wieters, Orioles
1B: Miguel Cabrera, Tigers
2B: Robinson Cano, Mariners
SS: Francisco Lindor, Indians
3B: Josh Donaldson, Blue Jays
IF: Eduardo Nunez, Twins
OF: Carlos Beltran, Yankees
OF: Ian Desmond, Rangers
OF: Mark Trumbo, Orioles
DH: Edwin Encarnacion, Blue Jays

AL pitchers:

LHP: Chris Sale, White Sox
RHP: Craig Kimbrel, Red Sox
LHP: Zach Britton, Orioles
LHP: Andrew Miller, Yankees
RHP: Wade Davis, Royals
RHP: Marco Estrada, Blue Jays
LHP: Cole Hamels, Rangers
RHP: Danny Salazar, Indians
RHP: Steven Wright, Red Sox
RHP: Dellin Betances, Yankees
RHP: Brad Brach, Orioles
RHP: Alex Colome, Rays
RHP: Kelvin Herrera, Royals
RHP: Will Harris, Astros

National League starters:

C: Buster Posey, Giants
1B: Anthony Rizzo, Cubs
2B: Ben Zobrist, Cubs
SS: Addison Russell, Cubs
3B: Kris Bryant, Cubs
OF: Yoenis Cespedes, Mets
OF: Dexter Fowler, Cubs
OF: Bryce Harper, Nationals

NL reserves:

C: Jonathan Lucroy, Brewers
C: Wilson Ramos, Nationals
1B: Paul Goldschmidt, Diamondbacks
1B: Wil Myers, Padres
2B: Matt Carpenter, Cardinals
2B: Daniel Murphy, Nationals
SS: Corey Seager, Dodgers
3B: Nolan Arenado, Rockies
OF: Adam Duvall, Reds
OF: Carlos Gonzalez, Rockies
OF: Odubel Herrera, Phillies
OF: Marcell Ozuna, Marlins

NL pitchers

RHP: Jake Arrieta, Cubs
LHP: Madison Bumgarner, Giants
RHP: Johnny Cueto, Giants
RHP: Jeurys Familia, Mets
RHP: Jose Fernandez, Marlins
RHP: Kenley Jansen, Dodgers
LHP: Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers
LHP: Jon Lester, Cubs
RHP: Mark Melancon, Pirates
RHP: A.J. Ramos, Marlins
RHP: Fernando Rodney, Marlins
RHP: Stephen Strasburg, Nationals
RHP: Noah Syndergaard, Mets
RHP: Julio Teheran, Braves