clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MLB spring training workout dates released, Tigers’ will start on Valentine’s Day

New, comments

Meanwhile, back in the real world, it’s still snowing.

MLB: Detroit Tigers-Workout Jonathan Dyer-USA TODAY Sports

Five weeks from today, the Detroit Tigers will begin reporting to Lakeland, Fla. for spring training workouts. Major League Baseball announced the workout dates for every team on Tuesday, and Detroit’s falls on Valentine’s Day, Feb. 14.

The team’s pitchers and catchers will have their first workout on the 14th, while the first full-squad workouts will take place on Feb. 18. The Tigers’ unofficial-official first game of the spring will take place on Feb. 23 against their annual opponents, Florida Southern College.

Nothing overtly interesting happens in the span of that first week leading up to Grapefruit League play, but just the thought of returning baseball is enough to get fans excited. Because let’s be honest, you love baseball and you’re sick of winter.

This year, however, fans attending the spring games will see an improved ballpark. The Joker Marchant Stadium has been under construction for several enhancements, so prepare accordingly. Among the improvements are:

  • More shaded areas (because after a long winter, let’s face it, your ghostly skin is going to burn because you forgot the sunscreen)
  • Additional box seats
  • Extra air-conditioned spaces
  • Added concession stands and the like (nothing says baseball like gorging yourself on ballpark food, but hey, it’s baseball, so that’s OK)
  • More restrooms (thank the good Lord)
  • A Hooters Dugout (no, seriously)
  • Margaritaville Deck
  • A plethora of new and fancy features
  • Several new player amenities

So, with TigerFest around the corner on Jan 21, keep in mind that actual spring baseballisms are only weeks away. Until then, you’ll have to settle for the occasional player tweets about offseason training and fishing on OFFSEASON.

Tigers 2017 spring training schedule

Day Date Opponent Where Game time (ET)
Day Date Opponent Where Game time (ET)
Thursday Feb 23 Florida Southern College Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Friday Feb 24 Orioles Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Saturday Feb 25 Astros Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Sunday Feb 26 Mets Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.
Monday Feb 27 Braves Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Tuesday Feb 28 Yankees (split squad) Tampa 1:05 p.m.
Wednesday Mar 1 Nationals Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Wednesday Mar 1 Blue Jays Dunedin 1:07 p.m.
Thursday Mar 2 Pirates Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Friday Mar 3 Rays Port Charlotte 1:05 p.m.
Saturday Mar 4 Yankees Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Sunday Mar 5 Phillies (SS) Clearwater 1:05 p.m.
Monday Mar 6 Orioles Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Tuesday Mar 7 Phillies Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Wednesday Mar 8 OFF - -
Thursday Mar 9 Mets Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m.
Friday Mar 10 Blue Jays Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Saturday Mar 11 Yankees Tampa 1:05 p.m.
Sunday Mar 12 Mets Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Monday Mar 13 Nationals West Palm Beach 1:05 p.m.
Tuesday Mar 14 Marlins Jupiter 1:05 p.m.
Wednesday Mar 15 Braves Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Thursday Mar 16 Braves Disney World 1:05 p.m.
Friday Mar 17 Yankees Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Saturday Mar 18 Marlins Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Saturday Mar 18 Braves Disney World 1:05 p.m.
Sunday Mar 19 Orioles Sarasota 1:05 p.m.
Monday Mar 20 Mets Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Tuesday Mar 21 OFF - -
Wednesday Mar 22 Blue Jays Dunedin 1:07 p.m.
Thursday Mar 23 Braves Disney World 6:05 p.m.
Friday Mar 24 Braves Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Saturday Mar 25 Pirates Bradenton 1:05 p.m.
Sunday Mar 26 Blue Jays (SS) Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Monday Mar 27 Braves Disney World 6:05 p.m.
Tuesday Mar 28 Yankees Tampa 6:35 p.m.
Wednesday Mar 29 Phillies (SS) Lakeland 1:05 p.m.
Thursday Mar 30 Orioles Sarasota 1:05 p.m.
Friday Mar 31 Marlins Jupiter 7:05 p.m.
Saturday Apr 1 Marlins Jupiter 12:05 p.m.